380 Comments

What do I wear when I want to look professional at work, but also super comfy (because I spend all day sitting on a chair)??

Expand full comment

A summer uniform for the uninspired urbanite who walks everywhere!

Expand full comment

When I go back to work I want to create a uniform - like sub-5 outfit formulas in constant rotation. I’m in finance - so need professional but not boring. Where to start?!

Expand full comment

I cannot for the life of me figure out what shoes to wear with wide leg pants. I’ve googled, trawled Pinterest, people-watched and stalked every stylish person on Instagram but I’m still lost! I have a simple black twill pair, quite soft, high waist, full length. Sneakers, sock boots, healed boots, strappy sandals, loafers, chunky sandals/slides and kitten heels all feel so wrong. Do I just give up? Or is there something I’m missing? Thank you in advance for your advice ❤️

Expand full comment

Any, ANY, ideas on summer/hot weather casual outfit ideas that are not just loose and flowy sundresses. Particularly need help with tops.

Expand full comment

Leandra! Hello! I’m in desperate need of a versatile, cool-girl pair of shorts. Please share your wisdom!

Expand full comment

Tips for finding second hand items on sites like realreal, etsy, depop? I tend to get lost in all the options but am trying to buy more second hand items.

Expand full comment

I’m turning into my mother, it’s the phase where she stopped wearing anything fitted. The pandemic has helped this transition along and anything tight is feeling uncomfortable. My jeans, tailored tops, really anything with a waist. Do you have some steps for transitioning back into shape revealing clothes? Or perhaps it’s time to embrace this phase and make it my own?

Expand full comment

Best budget-friendly but good quality brands (clothing, shoes, accessories) please?!?

Expand full comment

Hi, Leandra!

Do you have any socks-with-sandals wisdom to share?

Expand full comment

Have you ever felt the need to dress more "adult"? Like, what is dressing like an adult and should I be doing it? I don't know if it's the pieces I choose or if it's because I'm 32 and I look like 18 (not complaining), and I will never look "mature" despite the outfit? But, for exemple, if I want to use jeans and a white tshirt, how to look more like a 32 year old woman in jeans and tshirt and less like a teen?

Expand full comment

What do I wear when I am moving to the same area as my ex and it’s likely I’ll run into him

Expand full comment
Apr 20, 2021Liked by Leandra Medine Cohen

YES! Formulas, please expound on all the formulas, Leandra! I have a pretty banging wardrobe full of basics and the odd statement piece, and I live in a climate with pretty cruisy weather all around (Queensland, Australia). I don't get as guided by the seasons in the WTW stakes (one jumper will do for winter here, mostly). I'd love your ideas on how to build outfits that are varied and head-turning cool (ie. how to not get into a rut, and how to spice it up when it starts to feel like I'm boring my local barista every time I place an order with the same top on). xx

Expand full comment
Apr 20, 2021Liked by Leandra Medine Cohen

Capsule wardrobe tips. How to start building it and also I need a trench coat lol

Expand full comment

Would love an essential jewelry round up 👀

Expand full comment

Hi first of all Leandra I love you.

Second of all, I am aiming to pair back and have a capsule wardrobe. I work a stuffy finance job but love Doen/ The Kooples/ Marant/ Acne/ etc on my days off. What key staples do you suggest to streamline and perfect my closet?

Expand full comment

What to wear outside to dinner/the pub when you're eager to get into ~*spring/summer mode*~ and sick of all your winter clothes? In other words, how do I look cute and feel fresh without freezing my tits off?

Expand full comment

I haven't worn jeans in decades but now my body wants some. What are your best, easy, comfy, blue jeans recs? Straight leg or skinny, I'm not staying current with gen z

Expand full comment

What can I wear if I want to cheer myself up but I'm literally spending 100% of time in my bedroom (my workstation is there)?

Expand full comment

What do I wear when I want to get married at the courthouse and wear a fun/cool dress instead of a white dress or a wedding dress? Help!

Expand full comment

Where can I find cute fisherman sandals like yours?

Expand full comment

What to wear when you are petite? Like maxi dresses, dont know is it for me and if yes, how should i wear it?

Expand full comment

What do I wear if I am still breastfeeding and want to look casual yet chic and elegant?

Expand full comment

What Instagram accounts do you follow for inspiration???

Expand full comment

Hi Leandra! I've been grappling with how to avoid getting sucked into the trend cycle. It's not that I don't love tracking new styles and being with the moment, but I find myself buying new clothes way too often and then becoming disinterested in them after the fads have passed. Do you have any wisdom on how to go about shopping with the intention of timelessness? Thank you!

Expand full comment

Hi!! Couple of things:

What do you think of ankle boots in summer? And how to style?

What is your absolute ultimate white T-shirt? More opaque than translucent...

I second the question about which shoes to wear with wide-leg pants!! high-top converse? sandals? plain sneakers?

LASTLY, how to look dressy but in a very CHILL way, as in 'i didn't try too hard' lolol I know u kind of mentioned the other meaning of dressy but chill in one of your dispatches..

Thank you Leandra!!

Expand full comment

How do you layer jewelry? I'm obsessed with the look of chunky, over-done, and over-the-top layers upon layers of treasures, but I always wimp out at the last minute and take everything off with the exception of my studs and camp anklets. I fear I've done it all wrong and look more stupid and phony than "fashionable" or genuine. You seem to nail it every time and—lsdjfdf;akdgjkfgj (keyboard smash)—how??!

Expand full comment

How do I incorporate more sustainable fashion into my wardrobe without breaking the bank? I really want to be eco-conscious but can't bring myself to spend $$$hundreds on a t shirt

Expand full comment

Curvy girls want to know what to do about jeans; especially with the surging so-long for skinny jeans -- while heinous, they were our last hope at showing off delicate body parts, like ankles!

Expand full comment

I live with the clothes I brought in my large Tumi to Belgrade 2 years ago. Leandra, what if you had to live out of one large suitcase forever??? How would you stay inspired???? (help)

Expand full comment
Apr 21, 2021Liked by Leandra Medine Cohen

Leandra thank you for your post on dresses, I liked it and you looked amazing also with the RV shoes (I liked the "unseen child" part too, very accurate).

tried several dresses on last week, but still I just feel inappropriate, they are still so one-and-done, so well made to be entirely alone, but still so empty? so uncomplete?

Expand full comment

Which wardrobe essentials to buy to resolve once and for all the need to buy essentials?

Expand full comment
Apr 20, 2021Liked by Leandra Medine Cohen

absolutely resonate with this comment of yours: I’m usually more inspired by the way things are paired than I am by the actual items.!!!!! So true and this just helped me so much!

Expand full comment

What do I wear to the playground? Like, if I’m going to be sitting in the sandbox and want to be comfortable enough to play but also want to retain identity as myself and not just a sandbox chaperone. Chic playground wear!

Expand full comment

Hello :) I've been searching for a white blouse (sort of similar to what you posted above) to pair with entireworld's boxer shorts. Do you have any less-pricey recommendations? Think sub-$60 as I don't have a hUGE budget.

Expand full comment

A CHANEL jacket. You’re one of the few women that can wear one without looking stiff. Which piece did you first invest in? How do you style it and do you buy them secondhand? I’m fantasizing about investing in one but need advice!

Expand full comment

What is a staple pair of pants to own that isn't denim but adds some spice to every outfit I wear? I love the Saks Potts pant look, but I feel like that may be too niche??? I want a bold but versatile item

Expand full comment

What to wear for wedding celebrations if you are the artsy creative-type bride who loves looking "different"--in a GOOD way? (thanks Leandra this column is amazing!!) <3

Expand full comment

How to approach leaving university and dressing for the new phase of 'grown-up' life whilst also dressing in a way that says 'im cool with the fact I don't know what on earth I'm doing but I promise I do, like, think about stuff'

Expand full comment

Hi! how do I achieve that perfect fashion tension - i'm less stylistically valiant than you so I would say balance - while ;

wearing knee high boots, which I absolutely love and look really good with short dresses/skirts but feel waaay too femininely slick that way, or with pants on the slimmer side of pants (I say pants but I mean jeans) which is a combo I can't manage to make look good ?

PS : boots in question are flat (not too flat but not too chunky), a deep reddish brown suede, and follow quite closely the shape of the ankle and calve (which looks harmonious and gives them that 70s flair but I feel is precisely why they cannot look good with pants) I should disclose for honesty purposes that I am NOT ready to disavow The Boots and say it may be their own aesthetic fault they cannot be worn. I would rather turn on all of my other clothes ! And this is why I seek - nay, need!- your help, dear Leandra.

Expand full comment

Can you tell Gen Z the early 00s fashion is not coming back? Even ironically. No one has the bandwidth for that atrocity.

Expand full comment

Pov: You roll out of bed early in the morning to go get a coffee. What do you put on? Thanks sis!!

Expand full comment

Hi Leandra!

Here's your number one reader from Portugal asking why the hell do I have so many clothes on my wardrobe and find myself wearing always the same?! Is it just me? Maybe having 2 baby girls and being always on a rush doens't help 😅

Any tips?

(Sorry for some eventual grammar mistakes)

Expand full comment

Hi Leandra (and everyone!!!). I have been thinking about this a lot and would love to have your take: what do you wear when you feel sad or just down? Happy and colorful clothes to uplift you mood? Or ~sad~ clothes?

Expand full comment

Hi Leandra! Could you share some tips on how to layer necklaces or jewelry in general? I love all your joyful and unexpected combinations.

I’m currently seeking timeless and long lasting pieces but there aren’t too serious you know? If you could suggest some brands it would be much appreciated.

Thank you 💌

Expand full comment

Just searched today on how to style an oversized buttondown. And by this I'm talking about those very oversized, can wear by the beach over your bikini type shirt. But since I'm not going to any beaches any time soon, how should I wear them day-to-day?

Expand full comment

Since I have been home in athleisure wear for over a year, I find it hard to find the motivation to wear anything nice or even semi-nice - like a casual dress or skirt - how do you find that again?

Expand full comment

Where do I start, after a year of quarantine and more, that left me not looking or feeling like myself, and sized out of many of my favorites? I miss getting dressed and feeling good and need some inspiration.

Expand full comment

I never know how to define my style. I feel like it changes from day to day, but that makes it difficult sometimes when I’m shopping. Do you feel a pressure to define yours? How do you define it?

Expand full comment

Hi Leandra! Thank you so much for doing this - I love it and have just plucked up the courage to comment. My current problem is around dressing for work when a) I'm working from home and can only be seen from the shoulders up on video calls; b) I have crushing imposter syndrome and want to look polished and competent but not weirdly office-y, and also it's in the culture sector so have to find the balance of creative/professional; c) the imposter syndrome just gets WORSE when I try to look smart because I've only seen myself in leggings and t-shirts for the last year. A really great necklace and/or a top with an interesting neckline seems an obvious solution but would love love love to hear your take on any less obvious solutions. Thank you!!

Expand full comment