356 Comments

How to ID your style? And differentiate between "I like that look / style on another person" and "That style is my style"

Expand full comment

How to wear an oversized dress / top without drowning? Sincerely, 5'2"

Expand full comment

hello hello 💖💖

how do you beat that feeling of "wardrobe full of clothes but nothing to wear"? i've been spring cleaning and "digitising" my wardrobe with this app called Whering (big Cher from Clueless vibes💫💫) and it's making me realise that i only use about 20% of my clothes...

also I would love to know what you think about the potential role of fashion technology in the upcoming years 🤖

hope you have an amazing day 💖

Expand full comment

I admire how you mix prints and colorful combinations often in your outfits. I want to make 2021 the year I take more risks and find freedom in wearing colors. But I am in early stages of my transformation. I still feel silly sometimes in bright colors or bold prints. Is this really me? is my most torturous question. What's your advice on the process of gaining confidence in wearing whatever makes you happy and brightens your mood?

Expand full comment

I’m a reserved and semi quiet person, I wear either preppy, laid back, or athleisure (mainly athleisure for the last year). I want to wear loud amazing clothes but I don’t want to be judged or give off the wrong impression of my personality? Maybe I have a burning desire inside of me to express hidden parts of myself, maybe I grew up near Harrods and want to finally honour my love for Oscar De La Renta and his comrades? Who knows

Expand full comment

After having kids my body shape has changed and my old style doesn’t fit me anymore. I can’t figure out how to evolve and find a style that feels like me not like a mom.

Expand full comment

Sweet (sour?) Leandra,

This is the most important question you’ll receive. Do your backless sandals/flats make that slap noise when you walk? Do you hate it? But also lets hear about your favorite way to wear them while you’re walking around the city making slapping noises with your hoofs :)

Expand full comment

WHAT to where when you go through a 'i hate everything in my closet' phase? without re purchasing a new wardrobe...

Expand full comment

What pieces should we buy inexpensively?

Expand full comment

Tbh I don’t have a specific question I’d just want to say that I absolutely love the whole cereal aisle email thingy. Also that blue jacket from resee is incredible. The perfect shade of blue. Very blue.

Expand full comment

Hiii! Question for later: how do you keep up with your closet? Do you get bored of some stuff? If so, do you keep or toss? I can easily get rid of ‘disposable/cheap’ items, but I have difficulty with more special items waiting for them to make a comeback or it to pair well with some amazing outfit that may or may not appear one day... I have stuff I haven’t even thought of wearing in 5+ years).

Expand full comment

Please give me 3 advice on how to style clothes as originally as you do. What should I think about? It always looks like you paired your clothes completely randomly but it also looks perfect at the same time. x

Expand full comment

Rain outfits that aren’t Niagara Falls ponchos?

Expand full comment

How do you get inspired to get dressed every morning when you don’t necessarily have any real place to be or people to see?

Expand full comment

Help!

I wear a gold Mejuri pinky ring ~daily~ and I am looking for something special to add to my hand... No wedding rings of the sort are present. I know you are the actual expert in bobbles, unique bling, and bracelet stacks! Can you recommend something complementary paired or on its own...?

Expand full comment

Accessories! I'd especially love to see your playful jewelry collection, because that is what makes each of your looks so so so special to me. Love the dino bracelet, the endless beaded goods and more. What makes a piece special for you and how do you decide what to put on each day?

Expand full comment

Where can I find straight “cigarette” style jeans that wouldn’t hug my thighs? If I get a bigger size - they are too big for my waistline. Ew god it’s complicated

Expand full comment

I hit my 30s in the first year of the pandemic. Stage of life changes, workplace changes, lifestyle changes combined with lockdown living all make me feel like 1. I don't like 72% of my clothes anymore, 2. I don't know what to wear or 3. I don't know how to get dressed anymore. How can I remedy this/figure out what I actually want to wear without buying a bunch of clothes that no longer serve me and waste money?

Expand full comment

1) how i might venture not to interpret the return of the low rise pant as a personal affront

2) and at what age i need to approach wardrobe buying like an investing career (my grandmother rolls in her grave at my flippant, non-timeless buying, etc etc.)

3) lastly, the specific temperature at which we no longer wear tights in spring and

4) how to reconcile the state of play on my pale calves thereafter

Expand full comment

What should I do if I like a specific style but don’t like it on my body?

Expand full comment

For the queen of internet rabbit holes— how do I know if an rabbit hole is going to lead me to my new favorite item, or going to waste my time?

Expand full comment

Ciao Leandra!

Skinny jeans. Not sure if I hate them or just don't know how to make them interesting anymore. I'm sure you can so please help!!

Expand full comment

I want to be a belt person. Help me be a belt person. Where do I start? I saved an acrylic chain-link Fendi one from TRR but don't know how to style it!!!!!! (But I desperately want to wear it.) Thank you

Expand full comment

Tips for finding the best vintage jeans! Should I wait until shops are open again in my part of the world and prepare to dig around in the biggest thrift shop I can find? (if you have london specific suggestions please throw those in!). And what are your thoughts on alterations to jeans, I imagine that will make my search a bit easier?

Expand full comment

What to wear when you've gained the quarantine 20 and none of your clothes fit but you want to feel cute

Expand full comment

There are so many great brands out there, especially a lot of smaller brands popping up, and I love it, but can get overwhelmed! How do I shop smart and not get lost in an online shopping hole without even buying anything at the end of said hole?

Expand full comment

Hi! I’m looking for shoes for springs that are cute AND comfortable for walks (but not too long walks) and can be worn with many outfits (mostly with jeans though) and NOT sandals so my feet won’t freeze

Expand full comment

How do you determine proportions? Example: How do you figure that an oversized coat is too big on you or too big(or small) for a pair of pants to have a desired effect.

Expand full comment

Flat shoes (not sneakers) on a student budget which can hold up to a long day of walking!

Expand full comment

Hello Leandra, a mission impossible for your mind: uniform look for every day (boring) office life but... with a twist. I mean a Leandra kinda twist. Love you/follow you forever

Expand full comment

I am a 28yo grad student living in eastern North Carolina where the summer humidity is constant and oppressive. How can I wear longer (7 inch inseam or so) shorts and still look stylish and put together?

Expand full comment

1. If I'm a typically a size 7 and purchasing Manolos from The Real Real, should I size up or down? 2. Why is it that when I get dressed with looser fitting clothing and want to channel my inner bohemian, I just look like a frumpy trumpet? In my mind I look good but then when I look in the mirror, it's another story?" 3. What length necklaces are optimum for layering? I always buy 18" from Etsy but when I get them are not long enough!

Expand full comment

Woohoo! I’m so here for this!! As the weather gets warmer, and we anticipate comfortable distanced hangouts outside, I am so excited to ditch the sweats and dive into my closet!! But I’m pregnant, 20 weeks and growing and other than a couple overalls and one dress, I have no style plan! Can you advise a preggo?

Expand full comment

Hi Leandra, thank you for offering to help us get dressed! You're the BEST. I would love to know if you've any tips/tricks for looking good/yourself whilst dressing a steadily growing bump..? would love if you've any helpful advise. Thank you X

Expand full comment

Starting b school in the fall (in Chicago!) and after a year of nothing but sports bras & sweats WHAT DO I WEAR. HOW DO I PUT REAL BIZ CLOTHES ON MY BODY. Any advice for easy styles that are laid back but still scream "I'm a boss"?

Expand full comment

One year into the pandemic I find myself barely changing out of my sweats, but hating everything in my closet! When I scroll through my camera roll, I feel pangs looking at the ways I used to feel so confident pairing biker shorts with frilly tops, and getting emotional thinking about how I used to search my inventory for the perfect outfit to wear on a CVS run. How do you get out of a fashion rut?

Expand full comment

shoes are so hard - I live in NY and walk a lot. i'm stuck between my blundstones and reeboks, both of which i love, but neither of which make me feel fashionable or sexy - and they always tend to bring down rather than elevate an outfit. what does one wear on one's feet?

Expand full comment

Hey!

I'm a big fan, thank you for your sincerity and syntax! <3

Ppl who I find inspirational oftentimes wear stuff I cannot afford, like 300$ shoes. My price range is, for example, a coat from your collaboration with Mango when it's on sale lol. I get upset and think that it doesn't matter what I wear if it's not going to be as exclusive, fun, quick-witted, etc. as the items on my saved IG pics. I need your advice on how I can start appreciating what I already have?

Expand full comment

I want to own *one* radically functional pair of summer sandals that go with everything that aren’t birkinstocks

Expand full comment

hi leandra! so, I'm some trouble taking off my pijamas (quarantine vibes #sadness), and this is affecting very directly my confidence.... I spent 2020 without buying anything nice, and now I don't even feel like shopping or getting dressed, also I put on some weight (again thanks quarantine)... send help?

Expand full comment

Hi Leandra ! What is a good first investment bag (à la Chanel flap bag but more unique/one of a kind) within a budget of around $2,000 ? Thank you !!

Expand full comment

Any tips for dressing during that awkward pre-pop phase of pregnancy where you just look bloated? Still looking to lean into a post-vax party vibe, even if only to the actual cereal aisle...

Expand full comment

What advice would you have loved to hear when you were a teenager?

Expand full comment

I need help with wearing head scarves and not looking like a cast member of the crown (see pic below). Must ask as i feel like this year has made me unaware of what’s cool now - I blame being on the cusp of being a millennial and gen z - what is the cool girl sneaker to wear if you mainly wear denim and neautrals (navy, black, ecru, greys...) ?

Expand full comment

Hi Leandra - nice to "meet" you - thanks for doing this. I don't live in NY anymore and don't have any fashion inspo on the streets where I live. I'm looking for the best places to find inspiration and shop online and where to find a curated assortment of clothes that aren't basic. Any help would be appreciated!

Expand full comment

tips for getting dressed post baby - did you find a “new” style identity? I’m having more fun dressing my kids than myself, but desperately want to find clothes I can feel “myself” in .. whoever that is now? My new standard for clothing is what can I breastfeed in and feel ~cool~ in?

Expand full comment

I would love to hear your recommendations for:

-worthwhile splurges and *how to get yourself to actually wear them*

-how to have fun getting dressed when caring for your baby! I had a baby 6 months ago and now my amazing closet full of the fanciful, highly structured clothes I love is going totally neglected because of spitup/breastfeeding/lack-of-friendliness-for-cuddling-with-my-wonderful-baby. but oh man I could really use the pickup of wearing something I actually love and I hate that it feels like it's in tension with prioritizing my baby. please help!

Expand full comment

In light of COVID, what should I do (or rather how should I get dressed) if my need for comfort has now become an unrelenting influence? Specifically I have pretty wide feet, which my younger, more fashionable sister blames on my teaching yoga, and all I want to wear is Crocs and Chacos. Is there a mindset or frivolous essential you recommend incorporating?

Expand full comment

Hello Leandra,

I'm sick of jeans! that's all I've been wearing to go out since the pandemic started, what's the best pair of trousers to spice things up a bit? I'm 5′5 and curvy

Thanks !!

Expand full comment