18 Comments

pro tip: only do stuff you like to do ie teach them to like things that are great. don't set precedent of doing stuff "kids like" like that paw thing at Hudson yards (total nightmare) bc then they'll like that consumeristic crap forever and you will have to suffer it over and over again. there is plenty of stuff they can like that you like.

Expand full comment

Aaaand - and and and - is it *also* that our frustration and guilt and resistance are in fact our own grown-adult versions of testing out weird noises and drawing on the bed and making big messes, because these are respectively the age appropriate ways for us and our children to further discover who we are, by bouncing up against boundaries and finding out how much it hurts (psychologically or otherwise) they turn out to be very hard walls? And the shitty part of it is realizing that even though we may all/both/each be growing evermore, we are responsible for BOTH their wayfinding AND our own constant seemingly relentless wayfinding? And that sometimes feels like too much wayfinding for a first-timer?? Or for anyone???

Expand full comment

I must say, I checked out when I first saw the title of today's post. I've spent who knows how much time reading about mom guilt, talking about it (and, on good days, laughing about it), or just feeling guilty about feeling the guilt. It doesn't seem like there's much more to think/feel. But I was wrong: this is a lovely(thoughtful, human) piece. I remember being blown away by an essay you wrote about traveling on the girls' birthday, and wishing I had felt that sort of loyalty to my own sense of self so early in motherhood. This is a tough gig, and the wisdom I have picked up along the way often seems outdated as soon as it arrives. All this to say, you're doing great--for your girls, for yourself, and for those of us who get to read your work.

Expand full comment

This is so beautiful. Thank you. I often wonder if moms before us ever had these thoughts and feelings. Were they more at peace with motherhood because they didn’t even think there was another option? Was that just easier? Hard to say.

Expand full comment

thank you so much for sharing these wonderful words. they absolutely resonate with me. I couldn't agree more and will try to listen and stick to my choices.

Expand full comment

hi, GUILTY mama over here. I see where you stand and I agree, motherhood has made me "larger" in the sense that whatever i was doing before, now seems so much bigger and important because my daughter is in my life. I've talked to a parent coach about the struggle of wanting to just drink a tea or binging on a tv series instead i'm stuck playing the doll for my girl - and unfortunately the answer sucks - it's all in our hands meaning: the more we make space for them, the more space we will have for ourselves - so the battle for freedom is not with them but it's with our own selves. So most of the time i feel guilty of yelling, and refusing to have to pretend to check my temperature with the doctor set and then again i feel guilty because if i had chosen to spend say 10 min of real mum time, then I'd get 15-20 min of me time - it may sound unreal but it is actually the truest true.

Also on the note for motherhood vs fatherhood - i have this impression that yes as a mother you lose a bit of yourself whilst my husband appears to have gained a new self - i never and swear never see him guilty - it maybe does not show - but i guess the mom guilt it does stick in as your child are being delivered at birth

hope you find a nice social circle of mama friends - toughest thing in the world - meanwhile we always have your back here on this thread

love, Luisa

Expand full comment

You hit the nail on the head. The root of the problem is that you lose a part of yourself when you have a child. The question is, how do you get that back while still being there for them on their terms. Motherhood is definitely messy. It’s a lot of give-and-take especially a mom of girls.

Expand full comment

Possibly unpopular opinion from someone who doesn't have it all figured out either: It's okay to choose yourself when you have the opportunity. Your kids will be better for it.

Expand full comment